Queensland win Sheffield Shield, crushing NSW

Queensland have claimed the Sheffield Shield title, thrashing NSW by an innings and 33 runs in the final in Brisbane.

The Bulls secured the resounding victory after leg spinner Mitch Swepson (3-68) helped bowl the Blues out for 213 in their second dig before lunch on day four at Allan Border Field.

It marked Queensland’s ninth shield title and their first since the 2017-18 season.

The Bulls went into celebration mode after quick Brendan Doggett (3-37) claimed the final wicket to fall, snaring Josh Hazlewood caught behind for three.

Fellow speedster Xavier Bartlett also impressed for Queensland with 3-42. But Swepson did most of the damage on Sunday.

He ended the stubborn resistance of Baxter Holt, trapping the wicketkeeper in front for 29 off 91 balls.

Swepson also had Trent Copeland caught behind for nine and nabbed Nathan Lyon for 10 when ex-Test batsman Usman Khawaja took a smart slips catch.

Xavier Bartlett claimed three wickets for Queensland.(

AAP: Jason Obrien


Lyon could not capitalise after being given a life on seven when he was dropped at gully by Bryce Street off Michael Neser (1-41).

Defending champions NSW resumed on Sunday at 5-140 still trailing by 106 runs.

The visitors were under enormous pressure after Test No.3 Marnus Labuschagne struck a sublime 192 on Saturday to lift Queensland to a first-innings total of 389 and a 246-run overall lead.

He struck 21 boundaries in his nine-and-a-half-hour, 353-ball knock to register the fourth highest score in a shield final.

NSW were on the back foot since winning the toss and being routed for 143 in their first dig on Thursday after Neser (5-27) and Jack Wildermuth (4-21) ripped through the visitors.

The Blues suffered just their second loss in 14 games against Queensland despite boasting a world-class attack of Starc, Hazlewood and off-spinner Lyon.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: