Aussies handed ‘exciting’ draw at men’s T20 World Cup


Australia will begin its quest for an elusive men’s T20 World Cup title against South Africa, with the draw for the short-form showpiece announced on Tuesday. 

The Australians will also meet England and defending champions West Indies in the Super 12s, with the top two advancing to the semi-finals.

The match against the Proteas will take place in Abu Dhabi on October 23, before Australia faces one of the Super 12 qualifying teams in Dubai five days later.

Australia meets England in Dubai on October 30, ahead of another match against a Super 12 qualifier at the same venue on November 4.

The clash with West Indies will be played in Abu Dhabi on November 6.

The semi-finals will be played on November 10 and 11, with the final to be held in Dubai on November 14.

The T20 World Cup is the one title that has eluded the Australian men’s team, who have won the ODI World Cup five times.

Australia’s Alex Carey said he was relishing the challenge ahead of him and his teammates.

“Anytime we get to play against England is exciting, we know how dominant they have been in the white-ball format over the last few years,” Carey said.

“Coming up against the West Indies recently, we know how tough that can also be. So, we are really looking forward to this tournament.”

Bails fly after Alex Carey is bowled against Bangladesh.
Alex Carey being dismissed in the recent T20 series against Bangladesh.(

Reuters: Mohammad Ponir Hossain


Australia faces an immense challenge following back-to-back T20 series defeats to West Indies and Bangladesh, hardly the morale-boosting preparation they were seeking.

But Carey said the T20 World Cup was an exciting challenge.

“We have waited an extra 12 months for this one and to have it now in the schedule and see the draw that Australia has got is truly exciting,” he said.

Group 2 in the Super 12 stage includes India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan.

The Super 12s will be preceded by the initial group round.

Group A is made up of Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia, while Group B consists of Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman.

The top two teams in each group will qualify for the Super 12s.



Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button