Smith and IPL stars back in Australian T20 squad


Steve Smith will headline Australia’s list of returnees for the Twenty20 World Cup, with the star batsman named in a 15-man squad for the tournament.

Smith has been backed to overcome an elbow injury before the first game on October 23 against South Africa, as selectors also brought back the majority of IPL players who skipped tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh.

While there had been initial fears that Marcus Stoinis and Kane Richardson could be usurped while staying at home, their rivals’ poor tour form ensured they kept their spots.

Stoinis, Richardson, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner and Pat Cummins are all back in the squad, as Australia hunts its first major men’s T20 trophy.

Josh Hazlewood has been picked after being one of the few to impress during the recent two tours, after having struggled for T20 game time in recent years and missing out on the 2019 one-day World Cup.

The major losers are Ashton Turner and Moises Henriques, who have been part of Australia’s T20 set-up in recent times but were left out of the squad entirely.

Both had poor tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh as Australia lost both T20 series.

Cricket player swinging at the ball during a match
Josh Inglis gets the call-up to a star-studded Australian squad. (

APP: James Elsby


Alex Carey has been overlooked, with West Australian Josh Inglis a shock selection as back-up wicketkeeper despite having never played for Australia before.

“He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counter-attacking ability and power striking.

“He is a player we are excited about for the future.”

Selectors have opted for four spinning options for the tournament in the UAE and Oman, with Mitchell Swepson joining Maxwell, Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar.

AUSTRALIA T20 WORLD CUP SQUAD: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa. Travelling reserves: Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, Daniel Sams.


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button