The T20 World Cup is underway — but this year’s tournament is a little different

As you may have noticed, the men’s Twenty20 World Cup has begun.

You may also have noticed the early games of the tournament have featured some smaller cricketing nations, teams such as Papua New Guinea, Oman and Scotland.

The format of this year’s tournament is a little different, taking a total of 16 teams, and splitting the fixtures into qualifying and Super 12 stages.

All of which will lead to the final on November 15. Here’s how everything will work up until that point.

What games are being played now?

So, the first week of the tournament is the preliminary qualifying stage where eight teams, split into two groups, play off to fill the last few spots in the main draw.

The groups are:

  • Group A: Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Ireland and Namibia
  • Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Oman and Papua New Guinea

Every team will play against every other in their group once, and then the top two teams in each group will move on to the Super 12 stage.

Scotland’s Mark Watt celebrates a wicket in his side’s win over Bangladesh.(Getty: Francois Nel)

What is the Super 12 stage?

That’s when all the big guns get involved.

The eight teams currently ranked highest in the ICC’s official T20 world rankings have an automatic pass to this stage of the tournament, where they will be joined by the four qualifiers.

Those 12 teams are again split into two groups like so:

  • Group 1: Australia, England, West Indies, South Africa, A1 and B2
  • Group 2: India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Afghanistan, B1 and A2

After every team has played every other in their group, the top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals.

When is Australia in action?

After a pair of warm-up games against New Zealand and India on Monday and Wednesday, the Aussies have the honour of kicking off the Super 12 stage against South Africa on Saturday night.

Australia’s full fixture for the Super 12 stage is (all times AEDT):

  • October 23: Australia v South Africa at 9:00pm
  • October 30: Australia v A1 at 1:00am
  • November 1: Australia v England at 1:00am
  • November 4: Australia v B2 at 9:00pm
  • November 6: Australia v West Indies at 9:00pm


Where are games being played?

India was supposed to be the home of this T20 World Cup and, technically, the BCCI are still hosting the tournament.

However, due to concerns over the COVID-9 situation in that country, the matches have been moved to the UAE and Oman.

In the qualifying stage, Group A is based in the UAE while the Group B games will be played in Oman.

The entirety of the Super 12 stage will be played in the UAE, with games split between Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

How can I watch the T20 World Cup?

You will need Foxtel or Kayo Sports to watch the tournament, but you can tune in to ABC Sport’s live radio commentary of every game.

That includes the qualifying stage, so get the ABC Listen app set up now so you don’t miss a minute.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button